Damaged - Pamela Callow

Damaged

Artist Pamela Callow

  • Release Date: 2010-06-01
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 787 Ratings

Description

The thriller that launched lawyer Kate Lange into the hearts of a quarter of a million readers—and into the path of a serial killer...

"...every bit as exciting as books by many New York Times bestselling authors..."—Fresh Fiction

Haunted by the death of her sister and wounded by her ex-fiancé's accusations, Kate Lange throws herself into her new career at a high-powered law firm.

When the grandmother of a lonely private school student seeks her counsel, Kate thinks it's just another custody case. But then the teen is brutally murdered. And it isn't only Kate who wonders if her legal advice led to the girl's death.

"...a taut, edge-of-the-seat thriller..."—#1 Internationally Bestselling Author Linwood Barclay

Put on notice by Randall Barrett, the firm's charismatic managing partner, Kate must fight for her career, for her reputation - and for redemption.

Unwilling to live with the damage she may have caused, Kate pursues the case on her own and unearths some chilling facts.

"...dark and dangerously suspenseful..."—Atlantic Books Today

Facts that lead straight to the heart of a legal conspiracy.

Facts that lead Kate directly into the surgically skilled hands of the Body Butcher.

"Part medical mystery, part bloody thriller, here is a debut that had me flipping pages until the wee hours of the morning."—#1 New York Times Bestselling Author James Rollins

A Levy “Need to Read Pick" with Top Ten Bestseller display, now under option for television development. For fans of John Grisham, Patricia Cornwell, James Patterson, and Tess Gerritsen.


PRAISE FOR DAMAGED:

“Pamela Callow’s debut thriller, DAMAGED, reminded me of the best of Robin Cook: lightning paced, innovative, topical… and most of all, frightening. Part medical mystery, part bloody thriller, here is a debut that had me flipping pages into the wee hours of the morning.”

—James Rollins, #1 NYT bestselling author

"DAMAGED is a taut, edge-of-the-seat thriller with strong characters and a driving plot. Pamela Callow is Halifax's answer to both John Grisham and Tess Gerritsen."
—Linwood Barclay, internationally bestselling author 

"Taut, tense, and relentlessly chilling… this fast- paced thriller is the definition of page-turner: you can't wait to find out what happens -- but you're not sure you want to know."
Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha-winning author

"A compelling page-turner... Pamela Callow is a rising star."
—Rick Mofina, bestselling author of SIX SECONDS

"Extremely well plotted, Callow's debut novel is a hybrid of a police procedural and medical thriller. Heroine Kate Lange is a standout character, and readers will certainly look forward to reading her further adventures." 
—RT Book Reviews

"Pamela Callow's debut thriller, DAMAGED, is every bit as exciting as books by many New York Times bestselling authors... This tightly wound thriller springs through an intricately woven plot to keep the reader anticipating and squirming to the last pages."
—Fresh Fiction

"Saying it's action-packed is a bit of an understatement. It's the kind of book you buy on Friday and stay up all night reading." 
—The Chronicle Herald

"...this debut novel by a member of the Nova Scotia bar is one utterly complete, complex and convincing book that has one hooked from the first line...while this is a thriller, well-written and with a great plot, it is one that defies categorising. While the mystery may be medical with sophisticated and high technology required to improve lives, it’s dark and dangerously suspenseful..."
— Atlantic Books Today 

Reviews

  • Damaged

    5
    By startre4321
    Became a sort of creed, became within... damage.
  • K

    4
    By Books22
    Okay
  • Damaged

    5
    By mzshala
    Loved the suspenseful story and intriguing characters. It kept my interest and was fast paced.
  • Damaged

    4
    By Daisy Red
    Enjoyed reading the story. Good plot and interesting characters.
  • Great book!

    5
    By easywayx
    Didn’t want to put it down!
  • Damaged

    5
    By tap farm HATER
    Excellent, a page turner with unexpected plot twists.
  • Good book

    5
    By Crystalk96
    Another good book & new author for me to read.
  • Damaged

    5
    By Deyxcdfycx
    Nice story
  • Great read

    5
    By Radmaniac
    I’m not an avid reader but once I started this book I couldn’t stop. It was very interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed the mystery.
  • Brilliant! Held my interest from start to finish

    5
    By Cici 24
    Loved everything about this book; the plot, character development and ending were unlike anything else I’ve read. The fact that it was inspired by a real case makes it that much better. It’s such a relief to finally see a female lead relying on her brain and not her sex appeal.

Comments